72 Comments

When times are stressful, I like to relax with the Memory Palace and 99 PI. This isnt a left field recommendation, but the stories tend to be calm, informative, and well sound designed. I also actually took a lot of comfort in a new podcast, though not a Coronavirus podcast, called Risky or Not- two food scientists quickly deciding on whether or not they think something is Risky- thawed crab legs, hand dryers, out of date ravioli. It's nice to listen to scientists who know what they are talking about talk about that thing.

Expand full comment

I’ve been enjoying Girlboss Radio lately. The Big Picture is great for movie nerds so I’ve been suggesting it a lot. I’m also working on The Punk Rock MBA, which has been a blast!

Expand full comment

Janus Descending, BBC Murmurs, Seren, Less is Morgue, SideQuesting, Tales of Sage and Savant

Expand full comment

My favorites are:

Imagined Life, a guess who game that’s incredible when you need to get your mind off literally anything else.

Spoilerpiece Theatre, a really great movie review podcast with extremely thoughtful, funny, progressive hosts who always steer me toward the must-see movies

Into the Dark, There is no better podcast for true crime, the show is devastating in the best way.

Unorthodox, if you’re Jewish it may very well be everything you never knew you always needed.

Expand full comment

Spoilerpience Theater!!! SO FUNNY! And Reply All for all my nerdy techy needs!

Expand full comment

Spoilerpiece Theatre! The hosts are hilarious and don't give a darn about spoiling movies. Plus, they invite a wide variety of guests from all different backgrounds to discuss movies. Highly recommended!

https://www.facebook.com/spoilerpiece

Expand full comment

The Dollop! They make me laugh, think about the ramifications of history, and be glad I don't live in the 1800s every time.

https://melanietheconstantreader.substack.com/

Expand full comment

I honestly don’t remember who recommended it (it very well could have been you!), but the newest Richard’s Famous Food Podcast episode called “Everything is Peeklay” is amazing. It’s a joint effort with Everything is Alive and is one of the most fantastic things I’ve listened to in months.

It helps to know the idea behind Everything is Alive, but everyone should listen to this to hear how wonderful and strange podcasts can be.

So if it was you, thank you! If not, everyone would love it I have a feeling.

Expand full comment

Along the lines of the Off Menu podcast:

I find The Horne Section, Do the Right Thing, Two Stars Podcast, and Women Like Us all great for silly laughs and tuning out the world right now.

And if ever read the babysitters club books growing up, babysitters club club podcast is the best.

Ooh and while inactive for many years, Alex Horne breaks the news is another fave. It's about five years out of date and I will still relisten, which might say more about me than be an actual recommendation.

Expand full comment

Hi Lauren, I've been enjoying Moby Dick Energy, a chapter by chapter discussion of Moby Dick. The host is still coming up a learning curve, but each episode is better than the last.

Expand full comment

I'm not typically a trailer listener but I listened to sooo many trailers week. But I have been also listening to more podcasts related to creating a podcast. Oddly, I have NOT listened to that Reply All episode.

Expand full comment

Reply All, The Daily, Invisibilia. Two favs (not new) Story Corps: My Lobotomy and

Radiolab: After Life

Expand full comment

Hey Lauren!

I've been enjoying the latest Reply All episode—like EVERYONE! It is bloody good though.

The Nobody Zone is a well-produced true crime podcast from RTE, Ireland's national broadcaster.

Expand full comment

hi, been enjoying many podcasts about podcasting, podlords, school of podcasting, podcast accelerator, radio drama revival is particularly great if you want to dive into audiofiction , no newsletter issue this week?

Expand full comment

Hardcore History with Dan Carlin - Blueprint for Armageddon - WWI,

Expand full comment

Climate One, Lonely Palette, Slow Radio, The Syllabus, Hidden Brain, History Extra, Radio Lab, Drilled, Scene On Radio, Power Corrupts, the U.S. of Anxiety, and the Pulse. Only Slow Radio is new to me and strange. Audio painting vignettes. Unfortunately, I have no idea where the suggestions that led me to any of these came from.

Expand full comment

The United States of Anxiety - Fragility in Liberty was an ep you recommended and a very emotional episode for me as 1st gen American kid. While it didn’t cheer me up amid the COVID madness, it was a great distraction from it. Thanks!

Expand full comment

Helllooo, I started listening to the Ballad of Billy Balls and am obsessed with it

Expand full comment

Hi Lauren! I binged all episodes of hrishikesh hirway’s new show Partners this week. I love his non-narrated style in song exploder and it works perfectly here as well. I’m

also dipping in and out of Rob Walch’s very old show Postcast411, in which he interviews creators. Some fascinating time-capsule-ish conversations about podcasting in there.

Expand full comment

ASK ME ANOTHER! NPR's trivia show hosted by Ophira is an absolute gift these days.

Expand full comment

Unsurprisingly, this was a week of news podcasts: The Daily, Global News Podcast, Viral: Coronavirus and Today, Explained. I did really enjoy Heavyweight's interview with Jonathan Vaughters too as some light(?) relief; and the interview with Samin Nosrat on BBC Radio 4's The Food Programme (from last year).

Expand full comment

New Invisibilia eps

Expand full comment

I've been desperate for a break from the relentless COVID-19 newscycle so I've been leaning heavily on Let's Go, Atsuko and Off Menu with Ed Gamble and James Acaster. The perfect antidote.

Expand full comment